Drake, BadBadNotGood, Mac De Marco all feature...
Polaris Music Prize

One of the most striking things about Canadian music's creative resurgence across the past decade has been its sheer, stunning depth.

Sure, Canada is renowned for its indie rock scene, but aside from this the country has managed to produce artists as diverse as Drake, The Weeknd and Grimes.

The Polaris Music Prize - essentially the Canadian equivalent of the Mercury - clearly has its work cut out, then.

The full long list for this year's trophy has been unveiled, and as usual is packed to the gunnels with fantastic fare. Big hitters include Drake, Arcade Fire and Austra, while highly respected arranger and solo artist Owen Pallett has also received the nod.

Avant jazz outfit BadBadNotGood gain a nomination, while Tim Hecker, Odonis Odonis, Hyperdub signing Jessy Lanza and indie enfant terrible Mac DeMarco all feature.

After voting, a shortlist of 20 acts will be unveiled on July 15th. The winner will be announced at a prize gala in Toronto on September 22nd.

Here's the full list:

Arcade Fire – Reflektor
AroarA – In the Pines
Austra – Olympia
Philippe B – Ornithologie, la nuit
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Chromeo – White Women
Cousins – The Halls of Wickwire
Cowboy Junkies / Various – The Kennedy Suite
The Darcys – Warring
Dead Obies – Montréal $ud
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
DIANA – Perpetual Surrender
Drake – Nothing Was the Same
Freedom Writers – NOW
Fresh Snow – I
Frog Eyes – Carey’s Cold Spring
Gorguts – Colored Sands
Tim Hecker – Virgins
Jimmy Hunt – Maladie d’amour
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Kalle Mattson – Someday, the Moon Will Be Gold
Moonface – Julia with Blue Jeans On
Mounties – Thrash Rock Legacy
Odonis Odonis – Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Pink Mountaintops – Get Back
The Sadies – Internal Sounds
Shad – Flying Colours
Shooting Guns – Brotherhood of the Ram
Solids – Blame Confusion
Rae Spoon – My Prairie Home
The Strumbellas – We Still Move on Dance Floors
Tanya Tagaq – Animism
Thus Owls – Turning Rocks
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams
Chad VanGaalen – Shrink Dust Bry
Webb – Free Will
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – UZU

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: