'Peepers' gets re-worked

Forward thinking British jazz group Polar Bear are to release their new EP 'Common Ground' in October.

Polar Bear aren't your common garden jazz group. Eschewing standard influences for something a little more groundbreaking, the band are inspired by The Stooges and out there electronica.

Led by Seb Roachford, the band released their wonderful fourth album 'Peepers' earlier this year. However a chance collaboration with MC Jyager during a BBC session sparked a new project.

Taking loops from 'Peepers' the MC worked with Seb Roachford on building new tracks. The results represent a completely different take on the band's music, linking jazz to underground hip hop.

Of course, jazz and hip hop have intersected before but this is a much more forward thinking affair. Shards of noise, snippets of horn lines and drum rolls blast by with MC Jyager's flow sitting on top.

'Common Ground' is a brave new statement from a band who have built a career out of brave new statements. Set to be released in October, the new EP will be launched with two shows at this year's London Jazz Festival.

The two shows take place at the Westminster Reference Library, with Polar Bear due to perform on November 13th and 14th. Part of the band Autumn tour, the group have also confirmed a number of British headline dates.

Moving across the country, Polar Bear are set to play a show in Seb Roachford's hometown of Aberdeen. Culminating in those London dates, the new tour will see the band on typically groundbreaking form.

Polar Bear have confirmed the following shows:

1 Manchester Band On The Wall
2 Bristol Colston Hall
9 Tonbridge EM Forster
10 Coventry Warwick Arts Centre
12 Brighton Komedia
15 Norwich Arts Centre
16 Liverpool The Kazimier
17 Aberdeen The Tunnels
18 Edinburgh The Voodoo Rooms
31 Oxford Academy

13 London Jazz Festival
14 London Jazz Festival

Click here to buy tickets to Polar Bear!

Follow Clash: