Check out a preview on Clash...
The Silver Gymnasium

Okkervil River are set to release their new album 'The Silver Gymnasium' later this year.

Thoughtful, literate Americana with a visceral edge, Okkervil River are a cult quantity. However the success of the band's previous long player - 2011's 'I Am Very Far' - could land the group on the verge of a major breakthrough.

Which leads Clash neatly to their new album. 'The Silver Gymnasium' is set to be released on September 30th, with PIAS taking charge of the campaign for the UK. Will Sheff reflected on the material contained therein recently, revealing that each track is set in Meriden, NH during 1986.

"I’d always wanted to write a record that was more based in autobiography, that spoke about my memories of how I felt and how the world around me seemed at a specific moment in the past, and it felt like a good time to finally do it" he said.

Opening cut 'It Was My Season' is already online, with the music being matched to a lyric video.

Watch it below.

- - -

Produced by John Agnello, 'The Silver Gymnasium' is set to be released on September 30th. Tracklisting:

1. It Was My Season
2. On A Balcony
3. Down Down the Deep River
4. Pink-Slips
5. Lido Pier Suicide Car
6. Where the Spirit Left Us
7. White
8. Stay Young
9. Walking Without Frankie
10. All The Time Every Day
11. Black Nemo


Follow Clash: