Third album approaches

Newcastle indie types Maximo Park have unveiled the tracklisting to their forthcoming album 'Quicken The Heart'.

Maximo Park became one of the first rock acts to sign with illustrious electronic powerhouse Warp Records, releasing their debut album 'A Certain Trigger' to great success in 2005. Quickly following this with 2007's 'Our Earthly Pleasures' the band established themselves as one of Britain's biggest indie acts.

Now the group are on the comeback trail. With their third album nestling in their back pockets Maximo Park recently organised a charity show in their hometown which saw over two and a half thousand people desperately trying to gain entry. Since the venue could only hold 400, huge queues of fans were turned away into the night.

Despite their close ties to Newcastle, Maximo Park travelled to Los Angeles to record their new album 'Quicken The Heart'. Produced by Nick Launay - whose CV includes work with Nick Cave and Yeah Yeah Yeahs - the album contains some of the band's most assured work to date.

'Quicken The Heart' will be preceded by the long awaited comeback single 'The Kids Are Sick Again'. Available on CD, seven inch vinyl and as a digital download each version will come with a different B-side.

Maximo Park have already given fans a glimpse of the new album with the free download 'Wraithlike'. Already grabbed by thousands of fans, the song contains clipped guitars and Paul Smith's acerbic lyrics making it vintage Maximo Park.

Maximo Park are set to release their new album May 11th. Full tracklisting is as follows:

'The Penultimate Clinch'
'The Kids Are Sick Again'
'A Cloud Of Mystery'
'In Another World (You Would've Found Yourself By Now)'
'Let’s Get Clinical'
'Roller Disco Dreams'
'Questing, Not Coasting'
'Overland, West Of Suez'
'I Haven't Seen Her In Ages'

Follow Clash: