Taken from their expanded debut album...
The Magnetic North

Kid Harpoon has stepped in to remix The Magnetic North's track 'Bay Of Skaill' - listen to it now.

A strange, beguiling little archipelago just off the coast of Scotland, the Orkney Islands have been a hub for myth-making and tall tales for Millennia. Erland Cooper knows this better than most - the songwriter was raised on the islands, and grew up in an atmosphere of story telling.

Returning to his roots, the singer helped launch The Magnetic North with Simon Tong and Hannah Peel. Fusing history with fiction, simple songcraft with vast orchestration, debut album 'Orkney: Symphony For The Magnetic North' was a rich, diverse collection.

Set to be re-issued on June 24th, the expanded version of the album comes equipped the film 'Hunting For Remoteness' and a brand new bonus track entitled 'Hoy Sound'. Alongside this, The Magnetic North are preparing new single 'Hi-Life'.

Due out on the same day as the re-issue, the single comes backed with a remix of album cut 'Bay Of Skaill' crafted by Kid Harpoon. Fusing splintered electronics to the group's lavish songcraft, what emerges is a rich mixture of past and present, analogue and digital, talent and technology.

Listen to it now.

'Orkney: Symphony For The Magnetic North' is set to be released on June 24th.

Get the best of Clash on your iPhone - download the app here


Follow Clash: