Ceremony to take place in February...
James Blake

James Blake and Four Tet are amongst the nominations at this year's Music Producer Guild awards.

Production remains a hidden art form. Singers get centre stage, while songwriters can compete for the Ivor Novello awards.

Yet studio art is often neglected. The Music Producers Guild aim to rectify this, and host their own awards ceremony which is set to take place in London on February 13th.

Nominations include James Blake, whose second album 'Overgrown' waltzed away with the Mercury earlier this year. Four Tet is also up for an award, with Daft Punk nominated for 'International Producer Of The Year'.

Elsewhere, Disclosure receive a nod in the 'Breakthrough Producer Of The Year' category, while British Grove Studios, RAK Studios and Strongroom Studios fight it out for 'Studio Of The Year'.

MPG Chairman Steve Levine says: "An MPG Award is highly sought-after by recording professionals because it represents an endorsement by your peers. Whilst anyone can nominate, only full members of the MPG are allowed to vote for the shortlist and therefore the results are relevant to the creative value of our industry. Those who win an MPG Award are known to be at the top of their game as a recording professional."

Full list of nominations:

UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRITS 2014:
Paul Epworth
Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder
Ethan Johns

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by Beats by Dr Dre:
Daft Punk (Thomas Bangalter, Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo)
Rick Rubin
Tony Visconti

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Rode:
Catherine Marks
Guy Massey
Mark Rankin

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:
Tom Elmhirst
Flood (Mark Ellis) & Alan Moulder
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Mastering Engineer of the Year:
John Dent
Barry Grint
Mandy Parnell

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite/Novation:
Dan Smith & Mark Crew
Disclosure (Guy Lawrence, Howard Lawrence)
Duncan Mills

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year
Dan Cox
Catherine Marks
Matt Wiggins

Re-mixer of the Year:
Freemasons (Russell Smith & James Wiltshire)
Four Tet (Kieran Hebden)
MJ Cole (Matthew Coleman)

UK Album of the Year, sponsored by Universal Audio:
James Blake – Overgrown
Foals – Holy Fire
Laura Marling – Once I was An Eagle

UK Single Song Release of the Year, sponsored by Shure:
Adele – Skyfall
Everything Everything – Kemosabe
Foals – My Number

Studio of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio:
British Grove Studios
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios

The A&R Award:
Chris Briggs
Imran Ahmed
Jim Chancellor

The new issue of Clash magazine is out right now. It's always on the money with breakthrough acts worth listening to. So, go and see.


Follow Clash: