First new album in forty years...
Ready To Die

Iggy & The Stooges are set to release their new album 'Ready To Die' on April 30th.

Iggy & The Stooges only ever made one album. Essentially a re-jigged version of The Stooges (but with James Williamson on scorched Earth guitar) the band released 'Raw Power' in 1973 - effectively carving out the punk blueprint a good four years before 'Never Mind The Bollocks'.

Reforming in 2009, the band have played a series of international shows since then. Vowing to record new material, Iggy Pop recently laid out the band's plans in no uncertain terms: "My motivation in making any record with the group at this point is no longer personal. It's just a pig-headed fucking thing I have that a real fucking group when they're an older group they also make fucking records. They don't just go and twiddle around on stage to make a bunch of fucking money..."

The results are gathered on 'Ready To Die'. Due to be released through Fat Possum on April 30th, confirmed track titles include 'Burn', 'Sex & Money' and the bluntly titled recession protest 'Job'.

Here's some behind the scenes clips...

Iggy and the Stooges Interview from Fat Possum Records on Vimeo.

Iggy and the Stooges Scarecrow from Fat Possum Records on Vimeo.

Pre-order link.

'Ready To Die' is set to be released on April 30th.


Follow Clash: