"Living in the remains of love..."

Real name Liz Harris, Grouper seems to be caught in the throes of creative flux.

Last year's full length 'Dragging A Dead Deer Up A Hill' was an enthralling return, with the artist now preparing yet another new album.

Not a follow up as such, 'Ruins' appears to be - as always - a deeply personal work, with Grouper assembling the material during a residency in Portugal back in 2011.

Liz Harris explains: "'Ruins' was made in Aljezur, Portugal in 2011 on a residency set up by Galeria Zé dos Bois. I recorded everything there except the last song, which I did at mother's house in 2004. Iʼm still surprised by what I wound up with. It was the first time Iʼd sat still for a few years; processed a lot of political anger and emotional garbage."

"Recorded pretty simply, with a portable 4-track, Sony stereo mic and an upright piano. When I wasnʼt recording songs I was hiking several miles to the beach. The path wound through the ruins of several old estates and a small village."

Grouper is set to release 'Ruins' in October. Tracklisting:

1. Made Of Metal
2. Clearing
3. Call Across Rooms
4. Labyrinth
5. Lighthouse
6. Holofernes
7. Holding
8. Made of Air

Buy Clash Magazine
Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: