New compilation confirmed

Award winning Welsh festival The Green Man has hooked up with Rough Trade for a new compilation.

Returning for another instalment, The Green Man has outgrown its origins as a wyrd folk event. The festival now books a diverse range of acts, although it has now lost sight of its roots as an acoustic showcase.

Hooking up with Rough Trade, The Green Man have confirmed plans to release a new compilation. Focussing on this year's line up, the 22 track album features a vast range of music.

Headline acts such as Fleet Foxes, Explosions In The Sky and Iron & Wine are represented but it is further down the bill that some more curious talents lurk.

Returning American songwriter Josh T Pearson will take pride of place on the compilation, while The Low Anthem will also make an appearance. Welsh music legend Gruff Rhys will donate a track, while other confirmed acts include Holy Fuck and Squarepusher.

The final tracklisting has yet to be unveiled, but going by the reputation of both Green Man and Rough Trade this looks like a worthwhile effort. The compilation will have a decent helping of Stateside lo-fi and folk recordings including appearances from Sic Alps, Suuns, Lia Ices and more.

The Green Man / Rough Trade compilation is set to be released on August 29th, although fans can grab one early via the festival site. The first 100 copies of the limited edition varnished sleeve version get a free exclusive Rough Trade/Green Man 2011 Tote Bag.

Taking a pop up store out to Green Man, Rough Trade are due to set up shop on the Brecon Beacons site. Hosting impromptu acoustic sessions, the store will also be selling a six track official bootleg vinyl from Josh T Pearson.

Finally, Rough Trade are set to host a show on Green Man Radio. Broadcasting on Saturday from 3pm – 4pm as well as Sunday from Midday – 1pm you can tune in on 87.7 FM.

Green Man runs between August 19th - 21st.

Follow Clash: