Alongside previously unreleased material...

Electronic are to re-visit their 1991 debut album on an expanded re-issue later this year.

Electronic were a true supergroup. Departing The Smiths, guitarist Johnny Marr decided he needed a new project - opting to look up an old friend in the process.

Tiring of the continual grind of touring, Bernard Sumner opted to take a short break from New Order. Writing new material together, the pair invited Pet Shop Boys singer Neil Tennant - then embarking on a golden chart streak into the studio.

The results contain some of the most impressive - and oft overlooked - recordings of their careers. 'Electronic' was released in 1991, and an expanded re-issue later this year should see the album gain a new audience.

Musing on the group's origins recently, Johnny Marr said: "We were two musicians who wanted to get away from the suffocating politics of the band. At the same time it was OK for duos and DJs and non-groups to make records, and that really appealed to Bernard and me. We saw ourselves more in the tradition of David Byrne and Brian Eno, with a lot of technotronics and FX, and Kraftwerk was a very important touchstone for Bernard. So the times were perfect because it was all right to make records with machines, and not have to be four guys stood up against a wall."

Initially working with Factory records, debut album 'Electronic' was released in 1991 and contained hit singles such as 'Getting Away With It' - which boasted Tennant's unmistakeable croon. Critically lauded, the album went on to sell more than a million copies worldwide and remains a cult object with fans.

Set to be expanded for a deluxe re-issue, the new edition of 'Electronic' will be released on April 8th. Tracklisting:

CD 1
1. Idiot Country (2012 - Remaster)
2. Reality (2012 - Remaster)
3. Tighten Up (2012 - Remaster)
4. The Patience Of A Saint (2012 - Remaster)
5. Getting Away With It (2012 - Remaster)
6. Gangster (2012 - Remaster)
7. Soviet (2012 - Remaster)
8. Get The Message (2012 - Remaster)
9. Try All You Want (2012 - Remaster)
10. Some Distant Memory (2012 - Remaster)
11. Feel Every Beat (2012 - Remaster)

CD 2
1. Disappointed (Stephen Hague 7” Inch Version) (2012 remaster)
2. Second To None (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
3. Lean To The Inside (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
4. Twisted Tenderness (Guitar / Vocal Mix) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
5. Idiot Country Two (12” Version) (2012 remaster)
6. Free Will (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
7. Until The End Of Time (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
8. Feel Every Beat (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
9. Getting Away With It (Instrumental) (2012 remaster)
10. Turning Point (Edit) (2012 remaster) b-side to ‘Second Nature’
11. Visit Me (Edit) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED
12. Twisted Tenderness (Instrumental) (2012 remaster) PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED


Follow Clash: