Hyperdub to release 'Pretty Ugly'

DVA is preparing to release his new album 'Pretty Ugly' through Hyperdub on March 19th.

Sometimes called Scratcha DVA, Leon Smart is one of the most recognisable voices in underground dance music. For six and a half years DVA woke up Rinse FM listeners, with his Grimey Breakfast show mixing together the very best in UK Funky and Grime productions.

Keeping his finger continually on the pulse, Leon Smart also released a string of one off cuts under the DVA moniker. Signed to Hyperdub, the label will handle the producer's upcoming full length 'Pretty Ugly'.

Due for release on March 19th, 'Pretty Ugly' will contain a few of the producer's calling cards. Vikter Duplaix adds his vocals to 'Madness' - the 2010 track which woke up so many to DVA's imagination.

DVA also re-visits 'Just Vybe' with Fatima, while Cornelia drops by to rampage through the title track. However this isn't a rag-tag collection of guest vocals, with the producer coming to the fore on six instrumentals.

Hyperdub sign off the press release by labelling DVA "a genius" - a hefty boast but given the label's track record something to be taken seriously...

Listen to 'Madness' below and check out the tracklisting after the jump.

- - -

DVA is set to release 'Pretty Ugly' on March 19th. Tracklisting:

1. Reach The Sun
2. Just Vybe feat. Fatima
3. Polyphonic Dreams
4. Pretty Ugly feat. Cornelia
5. Bare Fuzz
6. Madness feat. Vikter Duplaix
7. Fire Fly feat. Zaki Ibrahim
8. Why You Do feat. A.L.
9. The Big Five
10. Eye Know feat. Natalie Maddix
11. 33rd Degree feat. Muhsinah
12. Where I Belong

Follow Clash: