Featuring Death Grips, Matthew Herbert...

Bjork is set to launch a new series of remixes based on her recent 'Biophilia' project.

'Biophilia' was a studio album. But it was also an app, a performance and more with Bjork seeking to push the boundaries until they snapped.

Given a full release by One Little Indian, said independent is now set to play host to a brand new remix series. Bjork has handed the stems for 'Biophilia' (the album) to a number of guest producers, with eight 12 inch releases due.

The list of producers involved in the project is quite something. American hip hop outcasts Death Grips are to remix Bjork, while forward thinking producers such as Matthew Herbert and Hudson Mohawke have also confirmed their involvement.

Other names who have confirmed their involvement include Alva Noto, These New Puritans, 16 Bit, King Cannibal, Current Value and El Guincho.

The 'Biophilia' remix project launches on April 2nd. No word as yet on a studio album collecting these re-workings, but given the approach followed by similar acts - Radiohead, Battles we're looking at you - one shouldn't be too far off.

Each release will be available digitally, on CD and on 12 inch vinyl - each physical edition will come with deluxe packaging. Bjork's 'Biophilia' remix series opens with Current Value re-working 'Crystalline' and 'Solstice', available from April 2nd.

Finally, Bjork recently unveiled the video for 'Biophilia' track 'Hollow' - watch it below.


Follow Clash: