It'll come out in February...

Beck is set to release his new album 'Morning Phase' via Capitol Records in February.

It's been five years since Beck released a solo album. Yet in the period since 'Modern Guilt' delighted our aural senses the American songwriter can hardly be accused of twiddling his thumbs.

Whether recruiting all star musicians for his record club or even releasing an album's worth of new material as a songbook, Beck has continually sought to push ahead.

Signing to Capital Records, Beck is set to release new album (proper) 'Morning Phase' in February. Pitchfork have the details, and reveal that the cast list mirrors that of 2002's folk-infused set 'Sea Change' (Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Joey Waronker, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr., and Jason Falkner).

Described as "a companion piece of sorts" to that album, full details are due to emerge over the coming days and weeks. Beck spent the summer releasing a triptych of singles - 'Gimme', 'Defriended' and 'It Won't Be Long'.

Stream 'Gimme' below:

The latest issue of Clash Magazine is available to purchase online - click HERE for details.


Follow Clash: