Listen to new track 'Turbine' on ClashMusic...

Barbarossa has posted new track 'Turbine' - the first preview from upcoming album 'Bloodlines'.

The first thing you notice is the voice. Barbarossa - in essence a vehicle for James Mathe - is driving by a singular, quivery, keening tenor, a perfect pop vehicle in all parts.

Working with Scottish imprint Fence, the project gathered steam last year with the release of a new EP. Gathered from ongoing sessions, Barbarossa have now completed work on their new album.

Released on Memphis Industries, 'Bloodlines' will be available from August 5th. Ahead of this, Barbarossa have posted new track 'Turbine' which is raising expectations for their upcoming LP.

Opening with drum cracks and smatterings of electronica, 'Turbine' is a deeply individual piece of work - all jagged edges and stop-start rhythms, James Mathe's voice ripples through the gaps.

Listen to it now.

'Bloodlines' is set to be released on August 5th. Tracklisting:

1. Bloodline
2. Turbine
3. Butterfly Plague
4. Pagliaccio
5. S.I.H.F.F.Y.
6. Battles
7. The Load
8. Saviour Self
9. The Endgame
10. Seeds


Follow Clash: