A dreamy electronic mashup...

A dreamy electronic mashup for you all this week, put together by Wraetlic, better known as Alex Smoke.

Releasing his first two albums on the legendary Scottish label Soma, Smoke – Alex Menzies – has become known for crafting dark techno and electronica. His Wraetlic project retains the trippy atmospherics of his other productions, but incorporates vocals and larger instrumental ideas, both of which can be heard in his Clash mix, which takes in Clams Casino, Zomby, Radiohead, Aphex and Objekt.

Here’s Menzies’ own take on his mix:

“It’s a representative selection of the music which has excited me over the last year or so, and it was nice to be able to construct a DJ mix with no limit on genre. There’s no master-plan in terms of the tone of the mix, but I tend to veer towards the murkier end of the musical spectrum. It’s one of the only mixes I’ve done digitally, as all my vinyl is in storage while I move cities, but it suits this mix of styles anyway. Particularly strong artists for me this year or so have been Hype Williams, Colin Stetson and Actress and they’re all represented one way or another. There’s also a couple of exclusives from the forthcoming Wraetlic album.”

A Wraetlic album and EPs will be released in November on Convex Industries.

(right click and 'Save as...')

Wraetlic Tracklist

1. Aphex Twin - Kneivel (Rephlex)
2. Dopplereffekt - Hyperelliptic Surfaces (Rephlex)
3. Clams Casino - Illest Alive [Instrumental] (White)
4. Space Ghost Purp - No Evidence (4AD)
5. Zomby - Lucifer (4AD)
6. King Midas Sound - Sumtime [Hype Williams Rework] (Hyperdub)
7. Burning Star Core - Clouds In My Coffee (Hospital Productions)
8. King Midas Sound - Goodbye Girl [Kuedo Rework] (Hyperdub)
9. Wraetlic - Scunner [Jon Convex Remix] (Convex Industries)
10. Radiohead - Give Up The Ghost [Thriller Houseghost Remix] (Ticker Tape)
11. Alex Smoke - Plastinate (White)
12. Wraetlic - Scunner (Convex Industries)
13. Wraetlic - Scunner [Jon Convex Remix] (Convex Industries)
14. Objekt - The Goose That Got Away (Objekt)
15. Kyoka - ROMOOne (Raster Noton)
16. Colin Stetson - Red Horse Judges II (Constellation)
17. Wraetlic - There Without (Convex Industries)
18. Evian Christ - Fuck It None Of Y’all Don’t Rap (White)
19. Hype Williams - Hype Williams Meets Shangaan Electro (Honest Jon's)

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on ClashMusic.com HERE

Follow Clash: