Riding a cosmic-disco wave

New Kompakt signing Taragana Pyjarama rides a fine cosmic-disco wave in his addition to the Clash DJ mix series.

The colourful electronic landscapes explored by Taragana Pyjarama (Nick Eriksen) on his ‘Tipped Bowls’ debut album certainly have a spacey vibe to them, such as the lush galactic synths on ‘Growing Forehead’, but the Danish producer here breaks out his dance chops more fully, while still keeping things gently abstract.

The mix – featuring tracks by Matthew Herbert’s Wishmountain alias, Border Community electro talents Nathan Fake and Luke Abbott, and Werk Discs artist Lukid – begins with a loosely psychedelic funk feel which edges into progressive electro, swooping into some very agreeable wonky house before a final blast of twisted disco wraps up a playfully experimental mix.

Taragana Pyjarama’s ‘Ballibat Remixes’ EP is out now on Kompakt.

(right click 'Save as...)

Taragana Pyjarama tracklist

1. Tod Dockstader - Glider
2. Jai Paul - BTSTU (Intro Edit)
3. Taragana Pyjarama - Just Remember This
4. Lukid - Talk To Strangers
5. Sun God (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
6. Last Land (Kenton Slash Demon Mix)
7. JMF - Philipp Dolphia
8. Snap Prance - Tod Dockstader
9. Space Mpz - Vagon Brei
10. Nescafe - Wishmountain
11. Carrage - Luke Abbott
12. Pond Dance - Tod Dockstader
13. Neketona - Nathan Fake
14. Cyanide And Happiness
15. To Be There With You - Aksel Friberg Ft. Kicki Halmos
16. Night Wears Thin (Salax Peep Show Remix)
17. iam#21 - Miraheima
18. Tipped Bowls - Taragana Pyjarama

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE


Follow Clash: