Shoegaze meets click house meets Krautrock

Shoegaze meets click house meets Krautrock this week, as Sam Willis, one half of electronica duo Walls, offers up his 40 choice minutes to the Clash DJ podcast.

As with his work in Walls (along with second member Alessio Natalizia of Banjo or Freakout), Willis – also of Allez Allez – provides a refined, ambient selection of electronica to begin his mix, courtesy of H.Tical and tech-house producer Sleep Archive.

He then ventures into trippy progressive house and a dash of hard minimal techno (from Sebbo and Oni Ayhun), before rolling through an extended, blissed-out shoegaze mood and a final dose of ambient euphoria to end things, including a track from Willis himself, which melts into the gentle fade-out of a Gas track. A lush selection of sounds, for sure.

Walls new album, ‘Coracle’, is released on Kompakt on 26th September.

(right click and 'Save as...')

Sam Willis DJ Mix Tracklisting

1. H.Tical - Rubidio
2. Sleep Archive - Sleep Archive
3. Sam Willis - Strange Aeons (Club Mix)
4. Gemini - The (Original Mix)
5. Sebbo - Watamu Beach
6. Oni Ayhun - OAR003-A
7. Terrestrial Tones - Our Single
8. Sam Willis - Gygax
9. Gas - Pop IV

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE

Follow Clash: