Electro masterclass

This week’s Clash mix sees innovative London producer Om Unit – Jim Coles – in fine form, laying down the best selection of electro we can remember hearing for a long time.

Although only recently taking on the Om Unit moniker, Coles has been working as a producer and DJ for some time, previously focusing his efforts on UK hip hop collaborations and competitive live DJing. His style as Om Unit is pleasingly hard to define, but is perhaps best summed-up by the sharp, frenzied attack of the title track from his recent EP, ‘The Timps’, which – aptly enough – is included here.

His Clash mix wastes no time in getting stuck in to some weighty cuts, with a fine quad-run of classic and new tracks from d’n’b luminary Marcus Intalex, Richie Hawtin’s minimal groove-tech alias Plastikman, Instra:mental’s Alex Green as Boddika, and Juan Atkins’ Model 500. Further highlights come from Addison Groove (formerly known as dub-techno act Headhunter), and French producer and Miss Kittin fave, The Hacker.

Quality at every turn from the very impressive Om Unit, with a subtly but solidly awesome electro exploration. Yet another reason to seek out his talents.

Om Unit’s ‘The Timps’ EP is out now, on Civil Music.

ClashMusic Dj Mix Podcast - Om Unit by clashmusic


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = 'http://media.clashmusic.com/music/djmix-podcasts/ClashMusic-DjMix-Podcast-OmUnit.mp3';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Om Unit mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Om Unit DJ Mix Tracklisting

1. Drexciya - Wave Jumper (Underground Resistance)

2. Aux 88 - Annihilating The Rhythm (Puzzlebox)

3. Om Unit - The Timps (Civil Music)

4. Marcus Intalex - It Makes Sense (unreleased)

5. Plastikman - Ask Yourself (214 refix) (unreleased)

6. Boddika - Electron (swamp81)

7. Model 500 - Night Drive (Time, Space, Transmat) (Metroplex)

8. As1 - Basslines (Transient Force)

9. Addison Groove - Work It (Swamp81)

10. ERP - Vox Automation (Frustrated Funk)

11. Faceless Mind - Safe Facelift (Strange Life)

12. The Hacker - Fadin Away (Heinrich Müller Remix) (Goodlife)

13. Om Unit - Prawn Cocktail (Civil Music)

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on ClashMusic.com HERE


Follow Clash: