A meaty, metallic groove-beast of a mix
Jon Convex

Damon Kirkham, one half of Instra:mental, lays down a meaty, metallic groove-beast of a mix for the Clash DJ podcast, under his new solo alias, Jon Convex.

The dark, experimental nature of Instra:mental’s sound is carried on through the Convex project, with an even larger array of sounds added into the equation, as demonstrated in his recent ‘Convexations’ EP, which delves into fragmented garage, futuristic acid house and dark club moods, to name but a few.

Slithers of all three EP tracks feature in Kirkham’s Clash mix, alongside a glitchy tech number from Dutch dub progressive Martyn (taken from his new album on Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder imprint) to open things up, several cuts from the continually-impressive and genre-defying Addison Groove, a clubby number from Joy O, an Instra:mental track and plenty of twisted techno, trip house and UK urban splices and bastardisations, all wisely woven together by Kirkham.

The ‘Convexations’ EP is out now, on Martyn’s 3024 label.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = 'http://media.clashmusic.com/music/djmix-podcasts/ClashMusic-DjMix-Podcast-JonConvex.mp3';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Jon Convex mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Jon Convex DJ Mix Tracklisting

1. Martyn - Viper (London Arches Mix) [Brainfeeder]

2. Mesak – Echo’s Bones [Klakson]

3. Tyler the Creator bootleg [Audio Culture]

4. Jon Convex - Radar [Nonplus]

5. Untitled dub

6. Jon Convex - Falling Again [3024]

7. Jon Convex - Convexations [3024]

8. Instra:mental - Pyramid [3024]

9. Presk & Cinnaman - Sweat (Jon Convex mix) [Audio Culture]

10. Addison Groove - Bad Things [unreleased]

11. Endian - Birdhouse [Nonplus]

12. Mosca - Dom Perignon [3024]

13. Joy O - Source Delight

14. Untitled dub

15. Jon Convex - Order into Chaos [3024]

16. Jon Convex - Pop that P [NakedLunch]

17. SCB - Overlay [Scb003]

18. Skudge - Boddika refix

19. Addison Groove - Footcrab Stomp mix

20. VHS Head - Motions [Skam]

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on ClashMusic.com HERE


Follow Clash: