A frenetic B2B defibrillation of a mix
ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast - Chrissy Murderbot & Cardopusher

If you’re still feeling sluggish from NYE shenanigans and a general festive comedown, you could do a lot worse than indulge in the latest Clash DJ podcast instalment – a frenetic B2B defibrillation of a mix from Chrissy Murderbot and Cardopusher.

Murderbot has made a name for himself through high-octane mashups that explore footwork, jungle, booty house and rave, endowed with a twisted party ethos. Though he may be a newer name to most, Cardopusher has also been peddling his manic electronic wares for a good few years, exploring similarly varied territory to Murderbot, and also flirting with breakcore, hip hop, electro, dubstep… You get the idea – two producers that delve into whatever musical ideas appear in their beautifully over-active minds.

Put together while Chrissy was on tour in Barcelona, the pair’s Clash mix is their first B2B mixtape, and it hits as a typically energetic affair, reflecting a shared passion for unashamedly upfront sounds. There’s “lots of jackin’ house in there, new and old”, as Chrissy himself puts it, alongside choice dabblings in rave, acid, old skool, nostalgic disco and plenty more, from the likes of Drexciya, Addison Groove, Scuba, Trevino, Cajmere and Nina Kraviz. It’s a fine way to begin kicking 2013 into shape.

‘Escape from Chicago’, a compilation of tracks from Chrissy Murderbot’s Loose Squares label, is out now, and a forthcoming release, ‘Greatest Hits’, is due out on Murder Channel. Cardopusher has recently released tracks on Loose Squares and Enchufada, as well as starting his own label, Classicworks.

(right click 'Save as...)

Chrissy Murderbot tracklist

1. Drexciya - Welcome to Drexciya [Underground Resistance]
2. Capracara - Ronin [Unknown to the Unknown]
3. Cajmere - Only 4 You [Cajual]
4. Serge & Tyrell - House Countdown (EPS Deng't Mix) [Clone Jack For Daze]
5. Nautiluss - Sunder [Turbo Recordings]
6. Risqué Rythum Team - The Jacking Zone [Chicago Connection Records]
7. Surtek Collective - Vertical [BNR Trax]
8. Underground Resistance - Timeline [Underground Resistance]
9. Ossie f. Tilz - Ignore (Yes I Did) [Hyperdub]
10. SL2 - DJs Take Control [XL Recordings]
11. Scuba - Hardbody [Hot Flush]
12. Lando Kal - Help Myself [Icee Hot]
13. Cardopusher - Airport Acid
14. Black Madonna - Alright This Morning [Home Taping]
15. Persnickety All Stars - The Last Round [Persnickety Sounds]
16. Wax Romeo - Satan Sheets [T&A Records]
17. Nina Kraviz - Ghetto Kraviz (Steve Rachmad's Jack Mix) [Rekids]
18. Nehuen - Bad Automation [Classicworks]
19. Addison Groove - Button Moon [50 Weapons]
20. DVA f. Inga Copeland - Rumours [Hyperdub]
21. Altered Natives - The Calling [Eye4Eye Recordings]
22. chris e. pants - We're Moving
23. Cardopusher - Body Rhythm
24. Trevino - Backtracking [The Nothing Special]
25. A Made Up Sound - Hang Up [Clone Basement Series]
26. Pizzicato 5 - Porno 3003 (Gusgus Remix) [Maatador]
27. SFV Acid - Bean Criteria [Uno NYC]
28. Tatham, Mensah, Lord & Ranks feat. Mark Force - Stars Shine For You [2000 Black]

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE


Follow Clash: