Electrifying art-rock from US trio...

Ahead of the release of their new album ‘All Aboard Future’, Clash is pleased to present a Track of the Day from These Are Powers.

The Brooklyn/Chicago-based outfit has been establishing a manifesto entirely of their own across the course of EP ‘Taro Tarot’ and 2007 debut album ‘Terrific Seasons’. The band – Pat Noecker, Anna Barrie and Bill Salas – conjure a sonic intensity that’s tough to match. Think a more frenetic Gang Gang Dance, or Animal Collective possessed by a wicked demon dressed like Siouxsie Sioux.

The band are presently playing live across the States, and will call in at South By Southwest in March – click to MySpace for further details. ‘All Aboard Future’ is released via Dead Oceans on February 16.

Get a taste of what’s to come on the band’s second LP by downloading the track ‘Life Of Birds’ below. It’s more blistering than sitting out in the midday sun… on Venus.



Follow Clash: