Listen to the new Kompakt album now

Kompakt has long been regarded as one of Europe's premiere dance labels, and you can listen to their new compilation "Total 9" exclusively on!

Based in Cologne, Kompakt was founded in 1998 and in its ten year existence has become legendary with a series of seminal minimal techno releases. Based around the triptych of Wolfgang Voigt, Michael Mayer and Jürgen Paape, Kompakt has overseen the German dominance of the dance world during the past ten years, while also releasing work by overseas artists such as The Orb and Aril Brikha.

Kompakt's annual "Total" compilations have acted as a barometer of the label's tastes and passions, documenting both short lived trends and legendary cuts. Now up to volume nine, the Kompakt team have decided it is now time to look back, and the new installment will contain some of the label's best known releases alongside cutting edge contemporary artists.

Amongst the choice cuts on "Kompakt - Total 9" are Justus Kohncke's "No Thanks For The Add" and label co-founder Michael Mayer's Supermayer project with "Hey Hotties!". Over the past ten years the minimal techno Cologne sound has risen to international prominence, driven on by Kompakt's dictum "From the creator directly onto the turn-tables".


Follow Clash: