Exercise One

Next up in our series of unmitigated electronic joy, we have a rather special treat from newbie Berlin techno wonder-duo Exercise One, who supply us with a UK exclusive of a live set used to kick off their recent European tour.

Despite only recently having released their excellent debut, ‘In Cars We Rust’, the duo have already established themselves as regulars in both the Berlin scene and, well, pretty much everywhere else as well, including Sonar festival, Fabric and Berlin’s minimal techno haven, Panorama Bar. Through such performances, Ex One have built an enviable live reputation, sometimes crafting entire new tracks just for their live sets.

This perfectionist muso practice can be witnessed in their live set, which sees the duo flawlessly perform a selection of unreleased tracks, as well as cuts from their debut and several remixes, including one of Swiss techno stalwart Khainz. And speaking of techno, there’s an abundance of it here, all of the very highest quality – from deep, bass-heavy textures which hint at the dubby sounds of Basic Channel to jagged, futurist acid-techno stompers, it’s all here and produced to perfection.

Put simply, Ex One’s live set is a lesson in how contemporary techno should sound.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = 'http://media.clashmusic.com/music/djmix-podcasts/Clash-Djmix-Podcast-Exercise-One.mp3';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Exercise One Dj mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Exercise One Dj Mix tracklisting -

1. Fire – unreleased

2. Trapdoor – Exercise One [Mobilee Records]

3. Distance – Khainz (Exercise One Remix) – [Kumquat]

4. Murder Inc – unreleased

5. Treat Em Mean, Keep Em Keen – Exercise One [Mobilee Records]

6. Vigil – Sian (Exercise One Remix) [unreleased]

7. Twin – unreleased

8. No News Today – Exercise One [Mobilee Records]

9. Colony – unreleased

10. What You Say? – Exercise One [Mobilee Records]

11. It Is Happening Again – Exercise One [Mobilee Records]


Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series below

1. Booka Shade

2. Heartbreak

3. Luke Solomon

4. Chris De Luca Vs Phon.o

5. Various Production

6. Richard Sen (Padded Cell)

7. DSL

8. 2020 Soundsystem

9. Digitonal

10. The Toxic Avenger

11. Headhunter

12. Dj Pierre

13. Nathan Fake

14. Tiga

15. 80kidz

16. Greg Wilson

17. Bronnt Industries Kapital


Follow Clash: