Greg Wilson
Greg Wilson by Silvana Garzaro

Somehow, ‘funk’ has almost become a dirty word in modern music, conjuring up images of bad haircuts and porn soundtracks, which is an absolute bloody crime, because the roots of Christ-knows-how-many wonderful bands and songs of the last twenty years lay in the immense back catalogue of amazing funk and disco records doing the rounds in New York during the seventies and early eighties.

Thankfully then, it gives me great pleasure to announce that the Godfather of electro-funk and general DJing legend Greg Wilson is the man in charge of this week’s mix, giving us all a solid reminder of what the scene is really about, along the way showing why he’s acquired the sort of reputation that most DJs would give both their index fingers for.

Having claimed residencies at such esteemed venues as Wigan Pier, Legend and the Hacienda, in 1983 Greg suddenly took an extended hiatus from DJing. Thankfully, in 2003 he began spinning tunes once again, showing that he’d lost none of the magic – a fact here confirmed by his mix, an excellent live set from renowned Manhattan hotspot/cavern of debauchery, Santos Party House.

Accordingly, Greg’s mix is a fascinating historical exploration of killer bass grooves, tight beats and inspired vocal lines, blended with electro flavours that perfectly showcase his unique and timeless style. Included in the mix are some classic disco cuts from the likes of Chic and T Connection, and some quite superb funk from the Fantastic Four and The Commodores, via the brilliant ‘Machine Gun’ – always a pleasure to hear.

Overall then, an absolute storming slice of electro party-funk, which – even if you are a geeky white chump with less rhythm than a corpse – will have you moving at least some parts of yourself in syncopation. Seamlessly mixed and masterfully chosen, this really is funky shizzle.

Click here to download the Greg Wilson Mix

(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Greg Wilson Dj Mix tracklisting -

1. Fantastic Four – Got to Have Your Love
2. Commodores – Machine Gun (situation edit)
3. Jazzy Dee – Get on Up (situation edit)
4. Northend – Tee’s Happy
5. Tele Music – Baby’s Band (LeoZero edit)
6. Chic – I Want Your Love (Todd Terje edit)
7. Escort – Starlight (GW version)
8. Rvng of the Nrds volume 07 – Cosmic DJ Delight (GW edit)
9. T Connection – Do What You Wanna Do
10. Captain Rapp – Bad Times (I can’t stand it) (GW ruff edit)


Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series below

1. Booka Shade
2. Heartbreak
3. Luke Solomon
4. Chris De Luca Vs Phon.o
5. Various Production
6. Richard Sen (Padded Cell)
7. DSL
8. 2020 Soundsystem
9. Digitonal
10. The Toxic Avenger
11. Headhunter
12. Dj Pierre
13. Nathan Fake
14. Tiga
15. 80kidz


Big Chill Festival 2010

Greg Wilson is performing at this year's Big Chill festival. Join Clash on the road to the Big Chill Festival with news, interviews and features. Visit ClashMusic's Big Chill hub for all the latest news on the festival HERE.

Buy tickets for the Big Chill Festival on



Follow Clash: