Provides a compelling and fascinating listening
Nina Walsh

Having worked with Andrew Weatherall (on both his Sabres of Paradise and Two Lone Swordsmen projects) and The Orb, managed several techno record labels and kick-started the Icelandic electronica scene, you’d be forgiven for thinking that the artist providing this week’s exclusive Clash mix – musical prodigy, composer and producer Nina Walsh – is prone purely to all things electronic.

And whilst she’s far more capable than most will ever be at creating quality electronica, she’s too smart a cookie to be tied down to just one genre, instead using her ample talents to explore a range of fascinating music, including the haunting beautiful alt folk showcased on her delightful recent solo album, ‘Bright Lights and Filthy Nights’.

This sense of musical variety is also very much present on her Clash DJ mix. Beginning deceptively with the gentle a cappella of Doc Watson’s ‘Down in the Valley to Pray’, things are suddenly cranked up several thousand notches when the mix kicks into the punky techno of Motormark, before going on to explore theatrical German electro, new-wave, ambient and rhythmical French folk. ‘Eclectic’ and ‘quirky’ are words unjustly overused in music journalism, but Nina’s lovingly crafted mix really is both of these, and is absolutely compelling and fascinating listening as a result.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = '';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Nina Walsh Dj mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Nina Walsh Dj Mix Tracklisting

1. Doc Watson – Down in the Valley to Pray

2. Motormark – Blame

3. Front 242 – Headhunter

4. Ubik – Kakikouka

5. Nina Walsh – Take Me

6. Clare Obscura – Barake

7. Max Mathews – Bicycle Made For Two

8. Rootmasters – Prozac Nation

9. John Fahey – Poor Boy

10. Noir Desir – Le Vent L'emportera

11. Francoise Hardy – Time's Passing By

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually below

1. Booka Shade

2. Heartbreak

3. Luke Solomon

4. Chris De Luca Vs Phon.o

5. Various Production

6. Richard Sen (Padded Cell)

7. DSL

8. 2020 Soundsystem

9. Digitonal

10. The Toxic Avenger

11. Headhunter

12. Dj Pierre

13. Nathan Fake

14. Tiga

15. 80kidz

16. Greg Wilson

17. Bronnt Industries Kapital

18. Exercise One

19. Dj T.

20. Caper

21. Laroca

22. Shir Khan

23. Oliver Huntemann

24. Flore

25. GusGus

26. Echaskech

27. Jack Sparrow

28. Kippi Kaninus

29. The Keyboard Choir

30. Claude VonStroke

31. Drop The Lime

32. Groove Armada's Tom Findlay

33. Marcel Knopf

34. Luke Slater

35. Bass Clef

Follow Clash: