Brooklyn-based duo
ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast - Sepalcure

One of the freshest talents of the US electronic scene – Sepalcure – further some already impressive credentials this week, with a mix of undiscovered garage and dubbed-out two-step gems, giving a wide berth to the glossy, club-filler names of an often populist scene, and focusing once again on the music.

As such a mix would suggest, the Brooklyn-based duo (consisting of members Praveen and Machinedrum) have created their own distinct sound in this busy musical chapter, producing textured, melodic tracks that takes in nineties garage, bassline house, two-step and euphoric dub, smothered with liquid Detroit and Chicago vibes.

One glance at the tracklist demonstrates that Sepalcure are indeed as clued-up about other people’s tunes as their own productions suggest. Full of satisfyingly obscure underground acts, the mix delves into musical chapters that you simply don’t get to hear unless you live and breathe music. Burgeoning new producers like FaltyDL, Jamie Grind and Hackman (whose selected track, ‘Made Up My Mind’, is a glorious tech-house / UK funky battleground) rub shoulders with classic rarities like Dem 2 (providing some vintage nineties garage), electronic soul from The Weekend and Lazer Sword’s Lando Kal. Fascinating stuff.

Sepalcure’s mix is a timely reminder that even the most niche of scenes possess a wealth of diversity and undiscovered sounds that can’t always be absorbed by typing names into Google. It also offers a justifiably smug salute to every lazily cobbled-together checklist mix in existence.

And if all that soul-baring doesn’t grab you, thankfully, the whole thing sounds awesome as well. A brilliantly constructed exploration of urban electronica, mirroring the duo’s own musical achievements.

Sepalcure’s ‘Fleur’ EP is out now on Hotflush Recordings, and a remix EP – with mixes by FaltyDL, Jimmy Edgar and Daedelus – will follow in summer. Sepalcure are also playing at New York’s Unsound Festival in April.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = '';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Sepalcure mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Sepalcure DJ Mix Tracklisting

01. Caboladies - Promise Ring Tone

02. Kevin McPhee - Bridges

03. Bodikka - Soul What

04. Untitled - Untitled (Body Language Remix)

05. Hackman - Made Up My Mind

06. Presk - Love Again

07. SND - 12

08. Dem 2 - Destiny

09. vvv - The Last Vestige

10. Sepalcure - Every Day of My Life (Jimmy Edgar Remix)

11. Braille - The Year 3000

12. Gugu - Rock a Bye Baby

13. Anthony Shakir - Assimilated

14. SCB - Futureloops

15. Snugs - Cool Off

16. Groove Theory - Tell Me (George Fitzgerald Remix)

17. The Weeknd - What You Need (Jacques Greene Edit)

18. Falty DL - Brazil

19. Lando Kal - Further

20. Darling Farah - Exxy

21. Distal + HXDB - Booyant

22. Helix - Attaque (Incyde Remix)

23. Darkhouse Family - Stabwound

24. Jamie Grind - Footwork

25. Wascal - Stork

26. Koreless + Sampha - On the Way Please

27. Machinedrum - Shediedhere

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE


Follow Clash: