Self-explanatory ‘post-tropical’ mix

What does the sound of two Finnish architects experimenting with tropical house sound like? It sounds a lot like this week’s Clash mix, from Renaissance Man.

Currently signed to electro eccentric Tiga’s Turbo Recordings (after releasing earlier tracks on Kitsune and Sound Pellegrino), the duo have been producing quirked-up angular electro-funk since 2008, already building up a solid reputation, both for their own tracks and for remixing the likes of Azari & III, Crookers, Brodinski and Health, amongst others.

Renaissance Man’s self-explanatory ‘post-tropical’ mix delves into the duo’s passion for tropical sounds, blending house and minimal techno into a series of colourful tracks. Featured artists include tech-house producer Roman Flügel, the ever-innovative Matias Aguayo and old-skool experimentalists Randomer, as well as several tracks from Renaissance Man themselves, including a Matthew Herbert remix. So embrace those life-affirming post-tropical dancefloor vibes and banish the early onset of winter.

Renaissance Man’s debut album, ‘The Renaissance Man Project’, is out on October 31 on Turbo Recordings.

(right click and 'Save as...')

Renaissance Man tracklist

1. Renaissance Man - What Do You Do When You Do What You Do (Field Recording Meets Ghetto Rhythm Mix)
2. Axel Boman - My Dirty Laundry
3. Karizma - Necessary Madness
4. Renaissance Man - What Do You Do When You Do What You Do (Matthew Herbert’s Little Liar Remix)
5. Roman Flügel - Deo
6. Matias Aguayo - Ligado
7. Bambounou - Alpha
8. Anti-G - CrazyShit
9. Shaghaan Electro meets Oni Ayhun
10. Connan Mockasin - Faking Jazz Together (Michael Mayer Remix)
11. DJ Killer vs DJ Murder - Bana Ba Sosha
12. Dexter - Great Northern Diver
13. Randomer - Brunk
14. Gonno - Acdise 2 (Gatto Fritto Remix)
15. Renaissance Man - Vancouver (Call Super Prototype)
16. Percussions L’Amerique Latine - Descarga Barbacoana

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE

Follow Clash: