Blissful, bassy tones
ClashMusic Dj Mix Podcast - Pursuit Grooves

Now here’s something to wake you from your electro-induced stupor: an exclusive mix from Pursuit Grooves – New York producer and vocalist Vanese Smith – whose distinctive blend of dubstep, nu-jazz, hip hop and electronic soul provides an intriguing and welcome addition to the heavier back catalogue of Tectonic Recordings.

Beginning with a gentle dub-reggae track from Rhythm and Sound, Vanese’s mix gradually melts into deeper and darker territory – via the likes of Dutch dubstepper Martyn – but without ever losing the warmth and soul that characterises her own music, some of which is thankfully present here. Other featured artists include talented electronica production duo Mount Kimbie, fellow jazz-experimentalist Jose James and Harmonic 313, whose considered glitch hop rounds off Smith’s mix perfectly.

Released earlier this year, Smith’s latest album, ‘Foxtrot Mannerisms’ is the result of this fascinating musical palette and considerable vocal and rhythmic talents, and comes highly recommended. Truly a one to watch, what better introduction to Vanese’s considerable skills than by indulging in the blissful, bassy tones of her Clash DJ mix.

Pursuit Grooves will also be playing at Fabriclive in London, on Friday 11 June, where she performs her UK debut live show alongside some Tectonic veterans, including Pinch, Skream and Kuedo. In Room Two, meanwhile, you can catch D&B talent Zero T – launching his ‘Fabriclive 52’ album – as well as Ed Rush, Wookie and a host of other names, while dBridge & Instra:mental head up Room Three.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = '';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Pursuit Grooves mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Pursuit Grooves Dj Mix Tracklisting

1. Rhythm & Sound - See Mi Yah

2. Mount Kimbie - 50 Mile View

3. iNSiDEaMiND - Twilight Harvest (feat. Poirier)

4. Jose James - Warrior

5. 2000f, J Kamata - You Don’t Know What Love Is

6. Pursuit Grooves - Tweezers

7. A Made Up Sound – Closer

8. Martyn - Vancouver

9. Illum Sphere - Chasing the Midnight Moth

10. Soundspecies - Something New (Brazilya Part II)

11. Mr Scruff - Rocking Chair

12. Harmonic 313 - The Returners

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE


Follow Clash: