Melody and a hint of madness
ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast - Phon.o

Berlin’s much-loved Phon.o – Carsten Aermes – blends melody and a hint of madness in a deceptively subtle Clash mix that takes in atmospheric techno and harder bass-driven moments.

Known in former years for his sexed-up, ghetto-booty mashups with Chris De Luca (under the CLP guise), Aermes has since gone on to work solo once again, releasing on Modeselektor’s 50 Weapons label and nailing a more refined, melodic two-step sound, aptly demonstrated in his recent ‘Black Boulder’ album.

Beginning with the night-soaked electronics of Throwing Snow, Aermes’ mix hits harder as it progresses, displaying his love for crisp, clicked rhythms. The shuffled swing of Carl Craig’s ‘At Les’, Martyn’s consistently progressive tones in ‘Red Dancer’, Aphex’s always-enjoyable Acid edit of ‘Windowlicker’ the mighty Moderat’s Seamonkey (via a haunting, horror-film tech remix by Surgeon), and Phon.o’ own ‘Fukushima’ (one of the stand-outs from the recent ‘Modeselektion Vol.2’) all find their way in to this compelling treat of a mix.

(right click and 'Save as...')

Phon.o Tracklist

1. Throwing Snow – Shadower [Sneaker Social Club]
2. Cosmin TRG – Vertigo [50 Weapons]
3. Carl Craig – At Les [R&S Records]
4. WK7 – Higher Power (Hardcore PCK mix) [Powerhouse]
5. Bandshell – Rise Em [Hessle Audio]
6. Future Past – Jam Packed [R&S Records]
7. Teeth – Percolator Meme [Soundpellegrino]
8. Aphex Twin – Windowlicker (Acid Edit) [Warp]
9. Martyn – Red Dancers [Monkeytown]
10. A Made Up Sound – Malfunction Adjust [50 Weapons]
11. Zoltan – Pawnoramics (Mock The Zuma remix) [Freshmore]
12. Pikcha – Disposition [Immersed Audio]
13. Throwing Snow – Sanctum [Sneaker Social Club]
14. Moderat – Seamonkey (Surgeon remix) [Bpitch Control]
15. Seven – Sinister [Black Box]
16. Phon.o – Fukushima [Monkeytown]
17. Tessela – Darlene, Please [2nd Drop Records]

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE

Follow Clash: