A journey through space and bass

Take a journey through space and bass with Clash this week, as newcomer Dauwd steps up with a mix that shows why he’s been getting the tongues of the alternative music press well and truly wagging.

Hailing from Wales, Dauwd grew up playing pretty much any instrument he could get his hands on before turning to electronic production. His own material explores various ambient electronica and dubbed-out bass textures with a strong focus on percussion. A more rhythm-driven James Blake, perhaps, with (intelligently handled) nods to Burial’s urban euphoria.

Dauwd’s Clash mix begins with skittish, click-step from Synkro before melting into glitchy urban from progressive dub producer 2562. A soulful Floating Points rework of Daedelus follows, shortly before Dauwd’s superb ‘Could it be’ track makes an appearance. Lando Kal’s sublime blissed-out house cut ‘Further’ is also featured, as is a raw Joy Orbison collaboration with Numbers’ talent Kavsrave.

It’s a perfectly pitched and intelligent selection, which showcases the alternative face of UK bass. We need to hear more from this thoroughly clued-up producer, ASAP.

Dauwd’s debut album, ‘What’s There’ is out in October on Pictures Music.

Click here to Download the Dauwd mix

(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Dauwd Mix for Clash Magazine

1. Synkro - Look at yourself [Exit]

2. 2562 - Lost [Tectonic]

3. Daedelus - Tailor Made (Floating Points remix) [Ninja tune]

4. TRG - Broken Heart (Martyn remix) [Hessle Audio]

5. Dauwd - Could it be [Pictures Music]

6. George Fitzgerald - Reset [Aus]

7. Lando Kal - Further [Hotflush]

8. Disclosure - Just your type

9. Kavsrave & Joy Orbison - Untightled

10. Hyetal - Diamond Islands (Boddika remix) [Black acre]

11. Jack Sparrow - Loveless [Tectonic]

12. Joe - Rut [Hessle Audio]

13. Dauwd - Shimmer [Picture Music]

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on ClashMusic.com HERE


Follow Clash: