Obscenely danceable madness

This week it’s the turn of bleep-core fanatic Boy 8-Bit to weave his magic via the Clash podcast, proffering 30 minutes of obscenely danceable madness exclusive to us UK folk.

Not a great deal is known about Boy 8-Bit, aka David Morris, but to be honest, with a mix like this it don’t really matter. What is known is that he delights in producing dirtied-up electro and fidget house at its most fidgety and satisfying, both of which are present and correct in his Clash mix.

B8B’s selection begins with a nicely weirded rework of electro-house producer Les Gillettes’ ‘Pompeii’, before melting into a wonderfully dirty remix of his own track ‘The Cricket Score’ – a delicious acid bounce frenzy with soulful saxophone riffs spliced in. Following that little blinder are a further score of remixes undertaken by the man himself, including reworks of Booka Shade vs. M.A.N.D.Y. (no, not ‘Body Language’ – way too obvious), and the acceptable face of hipster-pop, The XX. Ridiculously enjoyable.

Boy 8-Bit’s latest EP ‘The Keep’ is out now on This Is Music.


/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = 'http://media.clashmusic.com/music/djmix-podcasts/ClashMusic-DjMix-Podcast-Boy8-Bit.mp3';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Boy 8-Bit mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Boy 8-Bit Dj Mix Tracklisting

1. Les Gillettes - Pompeii (Boy 8-Bit Remix)

2. Boy 8-Bit - The Cricket Scores (Memory Tapes Remix)

3. Boy 8-Bit - Bulbs Burn out (Obi Blanche Remix)

4. M.A.N.D.Y. Vs Booka Shade - Donut (Boy 8-Bit Remix)

5. Boy 8-Bit - Baltic Pine (Run Hide Survive Remix)

6. Boy 8-Bit - The Keep

7. Boy 8-Bit - We Move By Night to Avoid Detection

8. The XX - Crystalised (Boy 8-Bit Essential Mix re-edit)

9. Boy 8-Bit -Restricted 18 Part 1

10. Boy 8-Bit - The Cricket Scores (Boy 8-Bit’s ‘It’s not Cricket’ Remix)

11. Boy 8-Bit - Wolfen (Jokers of the Scene Remix)

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on ClashMusic.com HERE


Follow Clash: