Graham Coxon

Blur guitarist and solo artist in his own right

Graham Coxon is a German-born English singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and painter, best known as the lead guitarist, backing vocalist and occasional lead vocalist of rock band Blur. His artistic and musical contribution is featured on all seven of the the band's albums, from 1991's 'Leisure' to 2003's 'Think Tank'. The cover of 1999's '13' was designed by Coxon. In 2002, he left Blur, following a bitter dispute with the other members. As a result, he played guitar and was credited as a writer on only the final track for the following year's 'Think Tank'. In September 2007, Graham Coxon rejoined the band and in late 2008 Damon Albarn announced that the band will reunite 2009 for a number of shows. He is also a critically acclaimed solo artist, having recorded seven solo albums. Four of them were recorded while member of the band. Coxon is capable of playing several other instruments, besides guitar, and is famous for recording his albums single-handedly, without much help from session musicians.


Graham Coxon


Follow Clash: