A wild-eyed, strobed and shadowy soundtrack
Download a mix by Hensen for ClashMusic.com's DJ Mix Podcast

What do you need to know about Hensen, the artist providing our latest DJ mix? Two things and not much else: he’s signed to emerging Australian electronic label Templar Sound, who are doing nothing wrong at the moment; and he makes dark, bassy tech tracks. Anything else is just filler.

And after listening to Hensen’s mix, you get the distinct impression that the only details he’s interested in are the musical ones. It’s a wild-eyed, strobed and shadowy soundtrack, yet somehow also refined, treading from industrial Germanic club beats to glitched wonk-tech to stripped-back dub minimalism to pulsating dancefloor fire.

Featured in Hensen’s mix are Jonas Kopp, Cursor Minor, Midland and Pariah teaming up, a cut from Mala’s acclaimed Cuban excursion, and Hensen’s own ‘Boss Mei’, a superb slab of jittery bass techno with rhythmic skits tripping over themselves to be heard, gradually signalling the end of a fiery giant of a mix.

Boss Mei is out on Templar Sound on 5 November.

(right click and 'Save As...')

Hensen tracklist

1. Sendai - EP2012-4
2. Pfirter - Arcon
3. Kangding Ray - Oise
4. Jonas Kopp - 4AM
5. WK7 - The Avalanche
6. Cursor Miner - Hieroglyph
7. Octagon Man - Klunk
8. Hizatron - Dejlig
9. Midland and Pariah - Untitled 2
10. Alex Coulton - Bounce (Pev Version)
11. Cliques - AUT
12. Al Tourettes - Mind Over Scatter
13. Mala - Cuba Electronic
14. Hensen - Boss Mei

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE


Follow Clash: